POTSDAM — The Crane Symphony Orchestra at SUNY Potsdam’s Crane School of Music will present four classic works in its first concert of the academic year, at 7:30 p.m. Oct. 9 in the Helen M. Hosmer Concert Hall.

The performance will open with the overture from “Die Meistersinger” by Richard Wagner, followed by two beloved concertos, featuring two student winners of the 2019 Crane Concerto Competition. Jonathan Kim ‘20 (New York City) will perform alongside the orchestra in the “Concerto for Violoncello” by Antonín Dvorák, while Christian Verfenstein ‘20 (Huntington Station) will be the featured soloist in “Piano Concerto No. 2” by Sergei Rachmaninoff.

The concert will conclude with “Symphony No. 5 (Reformation)” by Felix Mendelssohn.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.