PARISH - Altmar-Parish-Williamstown Central School District (APW) hosted a Varsity Athletic Awards Ceremony where student athletes were honored for their outstanding athletic abilities. Athletic Director Jamie Coppola welcomed students and their guests to the awards ceremony.

Guest speaker for the evening was former APW student athlete Kylee Bartlett who spoke about her successes following graduation from APW four years ago. Bartlett, who attended the University of Rochester and participated on their track and field team earned All-American honors, named Liberty League Field Athlete of the Year, National Champion in the heptathlon and pentathlon and set numerous school records and won many awards and recognitions during her years at UR. She encouraged the APW students to work hard and believe in themselves, because if she could do it, so could they. “The only thing stopping you from success, is yourself,” she told the audience.

Several awards and honors were announced and scholar athlete teams and individuals were recognized. In addition, Rebel Awards were announced and included: Most Competitive Rebels – Cierra Stone and Charles Stanard; Team Player Rebels – Julieann Parker and Dale Ostrander; Dedication Rebels – Victoria Britton and Anthony Frank; Warrior Rebels – Kylie Trumble and Austin Corbett; Most Improved Rebels – Anna Mullin and Hunter DeGraw; Work Horse Rebels – Mariah Walts and Jacob Smith; Sportsman Rebels – Tatyana Scott and Jordan Ostrander; Ultimate Rebels – Cassidy McConnell and Wyatt Stanard; and Iron Horse Rebels, recognizing students who participated in three sports - Veronica Becattini, Victoria Britton, Austin Corbett, Christine Leemann, Cassidy McConnell, Julieann Parker, Kylie Trumble, Amber Amidon, Alex Currie, Harlee Lucier, Anna Mullin, Ethan Pernisi, Makalia Reid, Charles Stanard, Tim Trumble, Julianna Bresha, Alyssa Curry, Audrey DeGraw, Nick Richards, Elizabeth Roth, Mason Guindon, Jordan Ostrander, Anthony Frank, Alivia Turk and Payton Sabine.

Section III Scholar Athletes were Jull Mueller and Josh Ostrander. The C. Rex Crosby Award was received by Dale Ostrander and Cassidy McConnell. The Floyd G. Bristol Award was given to Jon Comstock and Helaina Hale. The Outstanding Male and Female Athlete of the Year was given to Jon Comstock and Jordan Ostrander.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.