Massena taxes can be paid without penalty until July 22

Shutterstock image

North country colleges will be receiving nearly $3 million in TRIO grants from the U.S. Department of Education.

The funds will be disbursed to eight colleges across the region. SUNY Plattsburgh will receive the largest disbursement of over $612,000; Fulton-Montgomery Community College in Johnstown will receive just under $537,000; SUNY Canton will receive $309,458; SUNY Jefferson in Watertown will receive $280,021; Paul Smith’s College will receive $281,019; SUNY Potsdam will receive $332,515; Clarkson University in Potsdam will receive $317,461; and Adirondack Community College will receive $261,888.

The funds come from the Student Support Services program, a federal TRIO grant service which grants colleges and universities funds to support their low-income and first-generation college students in order to ensure they remain in college and graduate on time.

Congresswoman Elise M. Stefanik, R-Schuylerville, announced the funds Thursday in a press release.

“These TRIO awards will help our higher education institutions as they work to ensure low-income and first generation college students remain on track to graduate amidst the many challenges created by the pandemic,” she said in her statement.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.