WATERTOWN — The Jefferson County Board of Legislators has officially adopted new district lines, remapping the 15 legislative districts to more equally cover the county’s 115,800 residents.

The new map is largely similar to the existing legislative district lines, with shifts made to account for changing population counts. Each district was required to hold about 7,720 people, with a margin of error of 5% in either direction.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1

I write about north country politics, Jefferson County and the northern shoreline towns of Lyme, Cape Vincent, Clayton and Alexandria Bay

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.