Chateaugay’s Jonah McDonald was named the Class D player of the year Thursday as the New York State Sportswriters Association released its small schools All-State boys basketball team.

Twenty-nine Class B, C and D players from the Frontier League and Section 10 were named to the team.

McDonald averaged 30.9 points for a Chateaugay team that was ranked No. 1 in the state for much of the season.

Lyme senior, Isaiah Wilson, was also named to the Class D first team while Lowville’s Aidan Macaulay — the Times 2020 Frontier League All-North MVP — was named to the Class B first team.

Macaulay’s teammates Chad Bach, Aidan Zehr and Gavin Macaulay were named to the Class B second, seventh and eighth team, respectively. Ogdensburg Free Academy’s MeSean Johnson — the Times 2020 Northern Athletic Conference All- North MVP — was named to the third team, his teammates Jackson Jones and Trent Sargent were named to the fourth team and honorable mention list, respectively.

General Brown’s De’Shaun Thorigal-Brown and Canton’s Andy Downs were both named to the Class B honorable mention list.

Along with McDonald, Chateaugay’s Walker Martin was named to the All-State honorable mention list.

Kyle Gaumes joins Wilson on the Class D team as a third-teamer while fellow Lyme junior, Tyler Wilson was named to the honorable mention list.

Also on the Class D team was Harrisville’s Jadon Sullivan (second team), Hermon-DeKalb’s Jaydion Carrow (sixth team), LaFargeville’s Jarett Beach (seventh team), Copenhagen’s Keegan Morrow and Cody Powis (honorable mention) and Hermon-DeKalb’s Zach Denesha and Hammond’s Nate Jewett (honorable mention).

In Class C, Madrid Waddington landed two players on the team with Brennan Harmer making second team after averaging 17.5 points per game and Trent Lashua landing on the seventh team. Brushton-Moira’s Logan Bassett and Norwood-Norfolk’s Cole Perretta were named to the honorable mention list, rounding out Section 10’s Class C players.

From the Frontier League, South Lewis’ Ian Anderson was named to the Class C seventh team, Thousand Islands’ Joey Melfi was named to the ninth team and Beaver River’s Zach Mast was named to the honorable mention list.

The All-State large school team (Class AA and Class A) will be announced next Thursday.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1

Sports Writer

Beat writer for Section 3 high school football, Frontier League boys and girls basketball, Frontier League baseball and Frontier League softball.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.