Sugden’s baserunning key in Panthers’ win


LaFargeville is the only Frontier League team to earn a No. 1 seed in the Section 3 softball tournament. The Red Knights will be participating in the Class D tournament along with No. 7 Belleville-Henderson, No. 8 Immaculate Heart and No. 10 Lyme. LaFargeville earned a first round bye into the quarterfinals where it will host either IHC or No. 9 Poland. Belleville Henderson will face off against Lyme on May 28 at Belleville Henderson.

In the Class A tournament, No. 8 Indian River will host No. 9 Central Square on May 28 and No. 4 Carthage will host No. 5 East Syracuse-Minoa in the quaterfinals round on May 30.

South Jefferson earned a No. 2 seed and General Brown earned the No. 10 seed in the Section 3 Class B tournament. The Spartans will host No. 15 Canastota and the Lions will host No. 7 Westhill. The winner of games will face each other in the quarterfinals round on May 30.

In the Class C tournament, Beaver River earned the No. 5 seed and will host No. 12 Onondaga, No. 14 South Lewis will play at No. 5 Port Byron and No. 7 Sandy Creek will host No. 10 Tully. All first round games will take place on May 28.

The Class A and B semifinals and finals will be played at Gillette Road softball complex in Cicero. The Class C and D semifinals and finals will be held at Carrier Park in Syracuse.

Johnson Newspapers 7.1

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.